5 favourite jackets for fall

Hello lovelies,

The weather is definitely getting cooler and that means my favourite season is coming… Fall! I’ve always looked forward to this time of year because it is the perfect temperature, smells fresh and since I was younger, I’ve enjoyed watching the leaves change beautiful colours. I’m not sure whether I love fall fashion because I love the season, or vice versa, but fall fashion has always been where I invest most of my shopping budget.

img_3260

I thought I would start my fall fashion series by sharing with you my top 5 jackets that I have collected over the years. These are jackets that I have gotten much wear out of, or can see myself getting a lot of wear out of (the newer purchases), and that are super versatile!

Let me start off by my two most worn. This leather jacket on the left is from RUDSAK a few seasons ago. I highly recommend their leather jackets because they are super durable and detailed, which make them look and feel very high quality. Yet, if you score a sale, you can get them at quite an affordable price. I absolutely love how it’s made out of different leather finishings including the quilting along the arms, more of a matte finish in certain areas, both thinner and thicker material, and the silver zippers at the bottom of the arms. A leather jacket is extremely versatile as it can be worn with a t-shirt, jeans and converse, a dress and heels, or leggings with a longer blouse and high black riding boots.

The coat on the right is from Zara 3 years ago, however I have seen very similar ones since. Again, I love the details- simple details! I find a detailed coat can really turn an outfit from plain to stylish. It is great quality (which to be honest I was surprised about, yet again I did buy it in Europe and I find their Zara is better than in America) and has a mix of a double-layered khaki linen with pleather sleeves. It falls just above my knees, which I think really flatters jeans or leggings, high or short boots. Just looking at this coat, I want to wrap a giant cozy sweater around my neck!

Trench coats should be a staple in everyone’s wardrobe! The fact that they are so stylish yet classic make them a great piece to invest in. A trench can be perfect for the office, or again to throw over a casual outfit to spruce it up while strolling around town. The duster-trench coat on the left I purchased this season at Aritzia and it is by the brand Babaton. One of my fashion life goals is to one day buy a Burberry trench…but until then I have been on the hunt for one that is a mix between a traditional trench and a duster, and in the perfect shade of beige (which for some reason is so difficult to find!) I was so frustrated when I found this because they only had an XS in stalk in this colour and the sales rep was trying really hard to sell me the black. After many many phone calls I managed to track down the one size S left on the continent. If that’s not success, don’t know what is!

The military coat on the right I actually purchased at a vintage thrift-shop about 5 years ago! It was like love at first sight, I knew I needed it the second I saw it. I have seen very similar ones everywhere since, it’s all about finding the right one for your shape and style. It’s not the most warm coat, but it does a pretty good job at blocking out wind or light rain. I love how simple and oversized it is, yet has a hidden drawstring on the inside to cinch in at the waist so your shape is not completely lost in the coat. Again, super versatile- the perfect coat to throw on during a casual day!

img_3264

Lastly, my newest addition to the collection. Not sure wether this would be considered a sweater or bomber jacket but seeing as I would style it as a sporty bomber, I thought it would fit in to this post. I found it this month at Tj maxx and it’s by the brand RBX. Because of how out there it is, I knew that when I put it on it would be a hit or miss (clearly a hit). It’s made out of that scuba fabric so it is quite comfortable, and can be worn over activewear or a t-shirt with joggers. I bought it in a size M because I did not want it to be too fitted and I wanted to have the option to layer underneath. It also came in all black with greyish- turquoise marbled veins. I actually saw a pair of Adidas at DSW that matched perfectly except they were black scuba fabric with white marbled veins, but they didn’t have my size 😦 ! Story of my life.

Hope you enjoyed this post! I will soon be sharing my fall shoe/boot favourites.

Let me know what your most-worn fall coats are!

Much love,

Samantha xx

Leave a Reply

