FALL/WINTER perfumes

Happy Tuesday!

I hope everyone is having a positive start to their week! For all your Fall enthusiasts who want to smell like Fall from a bottle, keep reading…just kidding…well sort of. As mentioned in a previous post, I’ve worked in the cosmetic industry for quite a few years and I’ve had the privilege to experiment with more perfumes than I can ever try to count. Keeping that in mind, I am extremely picky with perfumes as I do not like when they are too overpowering. It’s all about finding the right scent for you, that makes you feel confident and acts as an extension to your personality. It is for this reason that some prefer to have one global scent, whereas others (like myself) prefer to have a few to go back-and-forth between depending on how they are feel that day and what they are doing.

fullsizerender-3

First off, for the purpose of this blogpost, I am using the terms perfume, fragrance, and scent to all refer to the same thing. Secondly, I wanted to clarify the confusion between the terms Eau de Parfum, Parfum, Eau de Toilette, Eau Fraiche and Eau de Cologne that can be found on the bottles. Without going in to too much detail, the differences today really have to do with the percent in which a fragrance is diluted (the amount of water and/or alcohol added). The less a fragrance is diluted, the stronger staying power it will have. This is why you should always wait a few minutes after testing a perfume on your wrist to smell the official scent (on you, as it will be slightly different from person to person); if you smell it directly after spraying, it will often smell as alcohol. Eau de Cologne traditionally also contain essential oils. Going from the least diluted to the most diluted: There is Parfum, Eau de Parfum, Eau de Toilette, Eau de Cologne, and Eau Fraiche, followed by body sprays (such as those from Bath & Body Works). A trick to make your scent hold longer, regardless of which type you wear, is to spray it on your clothing or hair instead of your skin. This trick also works well for fragrances you love at first but then turn funny on your skin after a few minutes because they simply do not work well with your pigment.

Also, since I am a huge skin health activist, I need to mention that wearing most perfumes is not recommended when in the sun for a long period of time. The sun can chemically change some ingredients found in traditional perfume and can cause hyperpigmentation (age spots)!! So, if you know you are the type to not leave the house without perfume it is best to find one that is at least all natural. There are quite a few now available at Sephora, department stores, and even Target (the brand Pacifica), but you can always check out your local health food store as well.

Dolce & Gabbana Pour Femme Eau de Parfum, Chanel Eau Tendre Eau de Toilette, Jo Malone Nectarine Blossom & Honey Cologne, and Jo Malone Wood Sage & Sea Salt Cologne are my year round go-to fragrances that are feminine yet light. These always make happy and make me feel like myself.  The D&G one is more on the powdery side, whereas the other 3 are more on the fresh side.

  • D&G Pour Femme is very feminine yet sensual. The main notes are vanilla, marshmallow, jasmine, neroli, raspberry, green mandarin, Orange Blossom, heliotrope,  and sandalwood. I find it to be quite a unique scent.
  • Chanel Eau Tendre is floral and sweet yet still very fresh and not overpowering. The main notes are grapefruit, jasmine, amber, quince, musk, hyacinth, Virginia cedar, and iris.
  • Jo Malone Nectarine Blossom & Honey is part of their regular collection. It is fresh yet floral and fruity in just the right way. Main notes include nectarine, acacia honey, peach, black currants, cassis, green notes, plum, vetiver, and petitgrain.
  • Jo Malone Wood Sage & Sea Salt is very fresh, musky, citrusy and salty in all the right ways (yes, I know that sounds a bit odd). This fragrance was launched as a limited edition but if I am not mistaken, it is now part of their regular collection. If you are looking for something very natural, this is a must-try! The main notes are musk, sea salt, seaweed, grapefruit, and sage.

These next 3 fragrances I only wear in the Fall and Winter as they are more warm and spicy. Personally, I enjoy wearing something a little lighter during the day, so when I am feeling festive Jo Malone’s Ginger Biscuit is my go-to. On nights where I go out or have a party to attend, YSL Manifesto Eau de Parfum, YSL Manifesto L’Elixir Eau de Parfum, or Armani Code Femme Eau de Toilette are my top picks. They are very sensual, warm and delicious, and with all seriousness, do give me a confidence boost (they  definitely flatter a pair of heels or an open-back dress).

  • Jo Malone Ginger Biscuit was sadly part of the Sugar & Spice limited edition collection. I am hoping it is still somehow possible to get my hands on one since I am nearly at the end of my bottle (tear). They do come out with limited edition collections often, so they may possibly come out with a similar one. It smells so heavenly of cinnamon, vanilla nutmeg and cloves in a light way, which is why I love it as a day scent and just want to eat it up. I must also add that this is by far the perfume my boyfriend comments on the most! The main notes are cinnamon, nutmeg, caramel, tonka bean, ginger, vanilla, and hazelnut.
  • YSL Manifesto has been a favourite for years. I find it to be the perfect balance between vanilla and woody. The main notes are black currant, begamot, lily, jasmine, tonka bean, sandalwood, vanilla, and cedar.
  • Armani Code Femme is perfect for those of you who want something feminine with a slight hint of vanilla yet still spicy. The main notes are orange, jasmine, ginger, sandalwood, vanilla, and honey.

If you enjoy more warm, unique fragrances that are on the spicy, woody, “darker” side,  some of my other favourites for Fall and Winter are:

  • Jo Malone Dark Amber & Ginger Lily Cologne
  • Roger & Gallet Bois D’orange Eau Fraiche
  • Maison Margiela Replica by the Fireplace
  • Maison Margiela Jazz Club

Thanks for taking the time to check out my post! Remember that perfumes are a very personal purchase. As much as you can read about others’ favourites, it is always important to actually test them our properly on your own (that’s why stores are usually pretty great at having testers). I am always on the hunt for new, interesting perfumes so please let me know what your favourites are as well!

Much love,

Samantha xx

2 thoughts on “FALL/WINTER perfumes

Leave a Reply

